A Department is the fundamental structure for the organization of research, teaching and other training activities of the University.

Its structure, functions and responsibilities are described in articles 24-28 of the Statute.

For the coordination and rationalization of teaching activities, two or more Departments can activate a specific School. The structure, functions and responsibilities are described in Article 29 of the Statute.

Seven Departments and a School are active at the UPO:



Law and Political, Economic and Social Sciences

Science and Technological Innovation



Pharmaceutical Sciences

Studies for Economy and Business

Translational Medicine

Health Sciences

School of Medicine




Sustainable Development and Ecological Transition


Some Departments also carry out teaching activities in cities other than their headquarters.